Two Indian-origin cricketers in Australia’s U19 World Cup squad

The 15-player squad will assemble in Melbourne during the Boxing Day Test for January's World Cup in the West Indies.

Australia has confirmed their squad for the upcoming ICC Men’s Under-19 Cricket World Cup 2022 in the Caribbean.

The squad includes Harkirat Bajwa, Aidan Cahill, Cooper Connolly, Joshua Garner, Isaac Higgins, Campbell Kellaway, Corey Miller, Jack Nisbet, Nivethan Radhakrishnan, William Salzmann, Lachlan Shaw, Jackson Sinfield, Tobias Snell, Tom Whitney, and Teague Wyllie.

While, Liam Blackford, Liam Doddrell, Joel Davies, Sam Rahaley, and Aubrey Stockdale have been picked up as reserves.

- Advertisement -

Nivethan Radhakrishnan, who moved to Sydney from India in 2013, is the only known ambidextrous cricketer in Australia.

The 19-year-old has also spent time in the Indian Premier League as a net bowler for Delhi Capitals, coached by Australian legend Ricky Ponting.

17-year-old Harkirat Bajwa has also been picked as an underage player who will still be eligible for selection for the 2024 tournament.

Coached by Anthony Clark, Australia has been drawn alongside hosts West Indies, Scotland and Sri Lanka in Group D of the pool stage. 

β€œOur squad includes players of all disciplines with experience in domestic cricket environments, and many have produced eye-catching performances across a variety of strong competitions this season. The Under-19 World Cup provides players with an exceptional development opportunity and we look forward to seeing them represent their country with distinction.”

The 15-player squad will assemble in Melbourne during the Boxing Day Test for January’s World Cup in the West Indies.

Australian Squad for ICC U19 World Cup

- Advertisement -

Harkirat Bajwa (VIC – Melbourne CC)
Aidan Cahill (NSW – Newcastle City CC)
Cooper Connolly (WA – Scarborough CC)
Joshua Garner (VIC – Geelong CC)
Isaac Higgins (SA – Glenelg CC)
Campbell Kellaway (VIC – Melbourne CC)
Corey Miller (NSW – Northern District CC)
Jack Nisbet (NSW – Sydney CC)
Nivethan Radhakrishnan (TAS – Hawkesbury DCC/Kingborough DCC)
William Salzmann (NSW – Campbelltown-Camden DCC)
Lachlan Shaw (NSW – Northern Districts CC)
Jackson Sinfield (QLD – Redlands CC)
Tobias Snell (QLD – Toombul CC)
Tom Whitney (QLD – Western Suburbs CC)
Teague Wyllie (WA – Rockingham-Mandurah CC)


Liam Blackford (VIC – Geelong CC)
Liam Doddrell (NSW – St Clair CC)
Joel Davies (NSW – Manly Warringah DCA)
Sam Rahaley (SA – Kensington)
Aubrey Stockdale (QLD – Toombul CC)

ICC U19 Men’s Cricket World Cup Groupings

Group A – Bangladesh, England, Canada, United Arab Emirates
Group B – India, Ireland, South Africa, Uganda
Group C – Afghanistan, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Zimbabwe
Group D – Australia, Scotland, Sri Lanka, West Indies

Australia’s ICC U19 Men’s Cricket World Cup Group Matches

Jan 14: West Indies v Australia, Guyana National Stadium
Jan 17: Australia v Sri Lanka, Conaree Cricket Center
Jan 19: Australia v Scotland, Conaree Cricket Center