Trinamool scores hat-trick in Bengal, BJP retains Assam, LDF Kerala; DMK in Tamil Nadu

The ruling Trinamool Congress scored an emphatic victory in West Bengal in the face of the stiff challenge posed by BJP with the Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee leading the party to its third successive victory in assembly polls.

While the BJP-led NDA retained Assam, the ruling LDF created history by retaining Kerala. DMK is poised to oust AIADMK in Tamil Nadu and in Puducherry, where Congress chief minister V Naryanasamy had resigned earlier this year, NR Congress-led NDA came to power. The counting was held amid COVID-19 protocols. With a surge in cases in the country, no victory processions were allowed.

In West Bengal, TMC has already won 198 seats and is leading on another 16 out of the total 292 seats for which elections were held. The party is poised to improve its 2016 tally of 2011 seats.

- Advertisement -
Mamta Benerjee, CM Bengal, Picture Source: Twitter @TMC

‘Khela shesh’ for Mamata in Nandigram, Suvendu Adhikari wins by margin of 1,956 votes

Mamata Banerjee was defeated in Nandigram by her former ministerial colleague and BJP candidate Suvendu Adhikari. Adhikari, who was once a close aide of Banerjee, joined the BJP just a few months ahead of the state assembly elections. As per the Election Commission of India (ECI), Adhikari won with a margin of 1,956 votes in Nandigram.
BJP, which had only three MLAs in the outgoing assembly, has won 48 seats and is leading on eight more. The party has major inroads in the state.
One Independent candidate has also won in West Bengal while Rashtriya Secular Majlis Party is leading on one seat.

Left-Congress alliance fails to win a single seat in WB
The Samyukta alliance comprising Congress, Left parties and ISF failed to open its account.

In the 126-member Assam assembly, BJP has won 47 seats and is leading on 12. Its alliance partner AGP has won nine seats and UPPL six seats.

Assam CM Sarbananda Sonowal 

In the Mahajot alliance, Congress won 21 seats and is leading on eight, AIUDF won ten seats and is leading on six, CPI-M won one seat and BPF won three seats and is leading on one. Independents won one seat and are leading on another.

PM Modi thanks the people of Puducherry for blessing NDA
In the 30-member Puducherry assembly, NR Congress won 10 seats and BJP six. DMK has won five seats and is leading on one, Congress won two seats and independents six seats. AIADMK failed to open its account.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union Minister Amit Shah among other leaders thanked the people of Puducherry after the NR Congress, BJP and AIADMK alliance headed for a majority in assembly elections.

- Advertisement -

“I thank the people of Puducherry for blessing NDA. We are humbled to serve the people and fulfill their dreams. Our Karyakartas made outstanding efforts to work among the people and elaborate on our agenda of good governance,” tweeted PM Modi.

The DMK-led alliance scored an emphatic win in Tamil Nadu.
According to the latest trends from the Election Commission, DMK has already won 62 seats and is leading on 71 in the 234-member assembly.

DMK chief MK Stalin on Sunday thanked the people of Tamil Nadu after his party-led alliance emerged victorious in the Assembly polls and informed his swearing-in ceremony would be organised in a simple way due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic.
“I would like to express my gratitude to the people of Tamil Nadu for giving the coalition a huge victory in the election. We will gradually fulfill our specific election promises,” Stalin said.

DMK chief MK Stalin, To be CM Tamil Nadu

Congress, which is an ally of DMK has won 3 seats and is leading on 13 more. DMK’s other allies CPI and CPI (M) have won one seat each and is leading on one seat each and Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi (VCK) has won two and is leading on two more.
AIADMK also won 26 seats and is leading on 43 while its ally BJP won on one seat and is leading on three seats. Paattali Makkal Katchi (PMK) has won one seat and is leading on three others.

Kamal Hasaan loses Coimbatore South seat to BJP candidate
Makkal Needhi Maiam (MNM) chief Kamal Haasan who was contesting from the Coimbatore (South) constituency in the Tamil Nadu Assembly elections lost the seat in a close fight with BJP candidate Vanathi Srinivasan on Sunday.
Early trends had shown the Haasan leading from the constituency, but the BJP candidate won pulled ahead with a margin of 1,540 votes.
Taking to Twitter, the actor-turned-politician thanked all the people who voted and said that he would continue to protect the state’s soil, land, and people.

MNM Chief Kamal Haasan

He also congratulated DMK chief MK Stalin for his victory in the polls.
“Heartfelt congratulations to the big success MK Stalin. You are taking charge as the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu in this time of crisis. My congratulations to perform well and taking Tamil Nadu on the path of development,” Haasan tweeted.

In Kerala, all results have been declared with CPI-M winning 62 seats.
Among the other constituents of LDF, CPI has won 17 seats, Kerala Congress (M) has won five seats, NCP and Janata Dal (Secular) both won two seats each, and Janadhipathya Kerala Congress also won one seat.

Pinarai Vijyan CPM leader, CM Kerala

LDF allies Loktantrik Janata Dal (LJD), Indian National League (INL), and Kerala Congress (B) also won one seat each.
In the UDF’s pavilion, Congress has won 21 seats, IUML won 15, and Kerala Congress (Jacob) one seat.
West Bengal saw eight-phase polling, Assam went for a three-phased election while Kerala, Puducherry, and Tamil Nadu went for a single-phase election on April 6.