Sahitya Akademi receives film award for its documentary on Indian writer

The award for “Best Biography/Arts and Culture Film” was received by Dr K.S. Rao who is the Secretary Sahitya Akademi.

On April 27, 2024, the 15th Manipur State Film Awards were distributed in Imphal by the Hon’ble Governor of Manipur, Ms. Anusuiya Uikey in the presence of Vineet Joshi, the Chief Secretary, the Government of Manipur.

At the event, the documentary “Khuman Prakash Singh” produced by Sahitya Akademi and directed by Aribam Syam Sharma was awarded the 15th Manipur State Film Award for the year 2023 under the category “Best Biography/Arts and Culture Film”.

Smt. Chongtham Kamala received the award for the “Best Voice Over” at the same event. The award for “Best Biography/Arts and Culture Film” was received by Dr K.S. Rao who is the Secretary Sahitya Akademi.

- Advertisement -

Dr Rao’s tenure as the Secretary has brought great laurels to Akademi. He pointed out that this happens to be the 164th documentary produced under the Indian Literature Archives Project of the Sahitya Akademi, which was started in 1997 to preserve the valuable works of eminent Indian writers, who have made significant contributions to the development of the 24 languages recognized by the Akademi.

So far, the Academy has produced 172 documentaries honouring writers such as Amrita Pritam, Vinda Karandikar, Gopalkrishna Adiga, D. Jayakanthan, Dharamveer Bharati, Vijay Dan Detha, Mulk Raj Anand, Kurratulain Haider, Vaikam Muhammad Bashir, Rahman Rahi, Mahasweta Devi, Binodini, Ashok Mitran, Nirmal Verma, Manohar Roy Sardesai, Ruskin Bond, C. Narayana Reddy, and many others.

This is the first time Sahitya Akademi has received a state-level award for its documentary film on Indian writers.

Support Our Journalism

Global Indian Diaspora needs fair, non-hyphenated, and questioning journalism, packed with on-ground reporting. The Australia Today – with exceptional reporters, columnists, and editors – is doing just that. Sustaining this needs support from wonderful readers like you.

Whether you live in Australia, the United Kingdom, Canada, the United States of America, or India you can take a paid subscription by clicking Patreon. Buy an annual ‘The Australia Today Membership’ to support independent journalism and get special benefits.