Rani, Kartik, Bhumi, Karan, Vijay and Mrunal win top honours at Indian Film Festival of Melbourne, check all winners

"As I found myself on stage last night halfway across the world in Melbourne - I felt grateful for the magic of cinema."

‘Pathaan’ has brought waves of happiness among Shah Rukh Khan’s fans once again. The film bagged the People’s Choice Award at the 14th edition of the Indian Film Festival of Melbourne (IFFM). 

Helmed by Siddharth Anand, ‘Pathaan’ starred SRK alongside Deepika Padukone and John Abraham. It has broken several box-office records. It is the highest-grossing film worldwide in the history of Hindi cinema with over Rs 1050 crore gross at the global box office. 

Coming back to IFFM Awards night, it saw honouring the remarkable talents of the Indian film fraternity, spanning across movies and OTT series.

- Advertisement -

Actor Rani Mukerji was named Best Actor for her performance in ‘Mrs Chatterjee Vs Norway’. Actor Mohit Agarwal took home the Award for Best Performance (Male) in Film for ‘Agra’.

Upon receiving the award, Rani said, “I feel incredibly proud and grateful that Mrs Chatterjee Vs Norway has been embraced and loved by audiences worldwide. It’s a universal story that showcases the power of a mother’s Shakti.”

“Winning the Best Actress Award is a true honour, and I sincerely thank everyone for their applause and appreciation of my performance.”

She added, “As I have always mentioned, receiving an award is like receiving love and adulation from the people who watch my movies.”

“This Best Actress Award for Mrs Chatterjee Vs Norway holds a special place in my heart, as I receive it here in Melbourne at IFFM and it is my first award for the film.”

“The topic we believed in from the beginning has proved its global impact, emphasising once again that the language of good cinema transcends all boundaries,” Mukherji added.

Filmmaker Karan Johar was at the Indian film festival of Melbourne for completing 25 years in the Indian film industry. He received a huge round of applause for his immense contributions to the field of entertainment.

- Advertisement -

2023 has been going great for filmmaker Karan Johar so far. This year he returned to director’s chair after six years and that too with a bang. 

His latest release ‘Rocky Aur Rani Kii Prem Kahaani’ (RRKPK) received a thunderous response from the audience. The film entered the Rs 100 crore club recently.

On receiving this special honour and especially for the love coming his way post ‘RRKPK’ release, Karan took to Instagram and expressed his gratitude. 

He wrote, “These past few days I’ve just been feeling an overwhelming sense of love and gratitude from all around!!! As I found myself on stage last night halfway across the world in Melbourne – I felt grateful for the magic of cinema. Thank you @iffmelbourne for honouring & celebrating my 25 years as a director. Thank you @mitulange , your love & compassion will forever etch a mark on my heart. All my love.”

Bhumi Pednekar was honoured with the Disruptor of the Year award.

Taking to Instagram, Bhumi shared a string of pictures from the event which she captioned, “Last night went from winning an award to eating the best apple pie. Thank you Melbourne and IFFM for the love.”

Kartik Aaryan was also felicitated with ‘The Rising Global Superstar of Indian Cinema’ award. 
On receiving this special award, Kartik took to Instagram and expressed his gratitude.

Sharing a video from the event he wrote, “Rising Global Superstar of Indian Cinema. Receiving this prestigious award far away from home, my country… surely makes me feel proud but it also brings a lot more responsibility to do better work and to bring more glory to Indian cinema.”

“This award belongs to all my fans and well-wishers around the world who have showered me with their immense love unconditionally. Thank you, Australia for making my first visit to the country special and unforgettable. Will be back soon! Thank you @iffmelbourne.”

His latest release ‘Satyaprem ki Katha’ received a positive response from the audience.
Earlier, he also shared his enthusiasm for being part of IFFM, where he will be honoured with ‘The Rising Global Superstar of Indian Cinema’ award.

“I am truly thrilled to be a part of the Indian Film Festival of Melbourne. This is my first time in Melbourne and to be here for a screening of ‘Satyaprem Ki Katha’ on the day I just landed has been amazing. I’m overwhelmed with all this love and really means a lot that everyone is here. There’s a feeling of togetherness and oneness here,” he added.

Kartik said, “I am deeply honoured and grateful to the Victorian Government and the festival for this prestigious award and humbled to be celebrated at the 14th Indian Film Festival of Melbourne.

Diversity in Cinema Award – Mrunal Thakur

Mrunal Thakur came to Melbourne for the second time to attend IFFM. However, this time she has turned herself into a film superstar in making.

Mrunal took to social media to express her feelings.

“Life truly comes a full circle. My journey in films started in Melbourne and I’m back here again, from opening the festival to now getting this recognition and award, I’m overwhelmed.”

“I’m grateful to the festival for this award of Diversity in Cinema and the best film award for Sita Ramam. Storytelling should have no restrictions of language and cultures, it should be free of such restrictions.

This has inspired me with fresh vigour to do work that makes a difference, and inspires.

Super Excited for what the future holds in this incredible journey of cinema.

Thank you IFFM, thank you Mitu, thank you Melbourne!”

Best Performance (MALE) in a Series
Versatile actor Vijay Varma received this for his outstanding performance in Dahaad.

He wrote on Instagram,

“Anand Swarnakar got me an award 😈
I share this with my #Dahaad team @reemakagti1 @ruchoberoi @aslisona @gulshandevaiah78 @shah_sohum @excelmovies @tigerbabyofficial @primevideoin ❤️
Thank you @iffmelbourne
And my team who helped me look sharp on the night”

While ‘Sita Ramam’ was announced the Best Film, ‘Agra’ was declared the Best Indie Film. 

Here is the complete list of winners:

Jury Awards

Best Documentary
To Kill A Tiger
Best Indie Film
Best Performance in Film (MALE)
Mohit Agarwal for Agra
Best Performance in a film (FEMALE)
Rani Mukerji for Mrs Chatterjee Vs Norway
Best Director
Prithvi Konanur – Hadinelentu (Seventeeners)
Best Film
Sita Ramam
Best Performance (MALE) in a Series
Vijay Varma for Dahaad
Best Performance (FEMALE) in a series
Rajshri Deshpande for Trial By Fire
Best Series
Best Short Film – People’s Choice
Connection Kya Hain by Nilesh Naik
Best Short Film – Australia
Home by Mark Russel Bernard
Honorary Awards
Equality in Cinema Awards to the movie “Darlings”

People’s Choice Award To Pathaan
Award to Karan Johar for his 25 years as a filmmaker
Rising Global Superstar of Indian Cinema – Kartik Aaryan
Diversity in Cinema Award – Mrunal Thakur
Disruptor Award – Bhumi Pednekar
Rainbow Stories Award to Onir for Pine Cone