Indian Australian Prof. Jagadish Chennupati among 27 Pravasi Bharatiya Samman awardees

The awardees represent the excellence achieved by the Indian diaspora in various fields.

The Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Award (PBSA) is the highest honour conferred on overseas Indians.

PBSA is conferred by the President of India as part of the Pravasi Bharatiya Divas Convention on Non-Resident Indians, Persons of Indian Origin or an organisation/institution established and run by the Non-Resident Indians or Persons of Indian Origin in recognition of their outstanding achievements both in India and abroad.

A Jury-cum-Awards Committee, with India’s Vice-President Jagdish Dhankar as the Chairman and External Affairs Minister Dr S. Jaishankar as the Vice-Chair with other distinguished members from various walks of life considered the nominations for the Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Awards, 2023 and unanimously selected the awardees.

- Advertisement -

The awardees represent the excellence achieved by the Indian diaspora in various fields.

Following is the list of Awardees recommended by Jury-cum-Awards Committee for conferment of the Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Award 2023:

Sr. No.NameCountryField
1Prof. Jagadish ChennupatiAustraliaScience & Technology/ Education
2Prof. Sanjeev MehtaBhutanEducation
3Prof. Dilip LoundoBrazilArt & Culture/Education
4Dr. Alexander Maliakel JohnBrunei DarussalamMedicine
5Dr. Vaikuntam Iyer LakshmananCanadaCommunity Welfare
6Mr. Joginder Singh NijjarCroatiaArt & Culture/Education
7Prof. Ramjee PrasadDenmarkInformation Technology
8Dr. Kannan AmbalamEthiopiaCommunity Welfare
9Dr. Amal Kumar MukhopadhyayGermanyCommunity Welfare/Medicine
10H.E. Dr. Mohamed Irfaan AliGuyanaPolitics/Community Welfare
11Ms. Reena Vinod PushkarnaIsraelBusiness/Community Welfare
12Dr. Maqsooda Sarfi ShiotaniJapanEducation
13Dr. RajagopalMexicoEducation
14Mr. Amit Kailash Chandra LathPolandBusiness/Community Welfare
15Mr. Parmanand Sukhumal DaswaniRepublic of CongoCommunity Welfare
16Mr. Piyush GuptaSingaporeBusiness
17Mr. Mohanlal HiraSouth AfricaCommunity Welfare
18Mr. Sanjaykumar Shivabhai PatelSouth SudanBusiness/Community Welfare
19Mr. Sivakumar NadesanSri LankaCommunity Welfare
20Dr. Dewanchandrebhose SharmanSurinameCommunity Welfare
21Dr. Archana SharmaSwitzerlandScience & Technology
22Justice Frank Arthur SeepersadTrinidad & TobagoCommunity Welfare/Education
23Mr. Siddharth BalachandranUAEBusiness/Community Welfare
24Mr. Chandrakant Babubhai PatelUKMedia
25Dr. Darshan Singh DhaliwalUSABusiness/Community Welfare
26Mr. Rajesh SubramaniamUSABusiness
27Mr. Ashok Kumar TiwaryUzbekistanBusiness

The 17th edition of the Pravasi Bharatiya Divas (PBD) Convention is scheduled to be held from 8–10 January 2023 in Indore, Madhya Pradesh.

Dr Archana Sharma from Switzerland posted a heartfelt note on social media after hearing the news of her being awarded Pravasi Bharatiya Samman.


The Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Awards will be conferred by the President of India Mrs Droupadi Murmu at the PBD Convention in the valedictory session of the Pravasi Bharatiya Divas celebrations.