Indian Australian Dr Chennupati Jagadish conferred Pravasi Bhartiya Samman Award

The collective power and potential of the Indian Diaspora would be a force multiplier in the nation’s inclusive development.

The 17th Pravasi Bharatiya Divas Convention in the Indian city of Indore was glittering with shining stars of the Indian Diaspora on its valedictory session.

As President of India Droupadi Murmu conferred Pravasi Bhartiya Samman Awards to 27 carefully selected members of the 32 million-strong global Indian Diaspora.

Indian Australian Dr Chennupati Jagadish was among the recipients of the Pravasi Bhartiya Samman.

- Advertisement -

Prof Chennupati is a Physicist and Nanotechnology Pioneer and was recently appointed as the President of the prestigious Australian Academy of Science (AAS).

Nanotech pioneer Prof. Jagadish appointed as President of Australian Academy of Science: Picture Source: Supplied
Nanotech pioneer Prof. Jagadish appointed as President of Australian Academy of Science: Picture Source: Supplied

Prof. Jagadish who studied by the light of a kerosene lamp up until grade seven went on to receive a B.Sc. degree from Nagarjuna University in 1977, M.Sc (Tech) degree from Andhra University in 1980, and M.Phil. and Ph.D. degrees from the University of Delhi in 1982 and 1986, respectively.

He moved to Australia in 1990 and became an Australian citizen in 1995. Here, he established a major research program in the field of optoelectronics and nanotechnology.

WATCH VIDEO: Prof. Chennupati Jagadish’s exclusive interview with The Australia Today’s Editor Pallavi Jain

Prof. Jagadish has served as an advisor to the Australian Government on Nanotechnology, and also established the Australian Nanotechnology Network and the Canberra node of the Australian National Fabrication Facility to serve academic and industrial needs. He has also served as the President of the IEEE Nanotechnology Council (2008, 2009), IEEE Photonics Society (2018,2019), Australian Materials Research Society (2016-2019) and is currently serving as the President of the Australian Academy of Science (May 2022-May 2026). 


Pravasi Bhartiya Samman Award (PBSA) is conferred by the President of India as part of the Pravasi Bharatiya Divas Convention on Non-Resident Indians, Persons of Indian Origin or an organisation/institution established and run by the Non-Resident Indians or Persons of Indian Origin in recognition of their outstanding achievements both in India and abroad.

- Advertisement -

A Jury-cum-Awards Committee, with India’s Vice-President Jagdish Dhankar as the Chairman and External Affairs Minister Dr S. Jaishankar as the Vice-Chair with other distinguished members from various walks of life considered the nominations for the Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Awards, 2023 and unanimously selected the awardees.

Following is the list of Awardees recommended by Jury-cum-Awards Committee for conferment of the Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Award 2023:

Sr. No.NameCountryField
1Prof. Jagadish ChennupatiAustraliaScience & Technology/ Education
2Prof. Sanjeev MehtaBhutanEducation
3Prof. Dilip LoundoBrazilArt & Culture/Education
4Dr. Alexander Maliakel JohnBrunei DarussalamMedicine
5Dr. Vaikuntam Iyer LakshmananCanadaCommunity Welfare
6Mr. Joginder Singh NijjarCroatiaArt & Culture/Education
7Prof. Ramjee PrasadDenmarkInformation Technology
8Dr. Kannan AmbalamEthiopiaCommunity Welfare
9Dr. Amal Kumar MukhopadhyayGermanyCommunity Welfare/Medicine
10H.E. Dr. Mohamed Irfaan AliGuyanaPolitics/Community Welfare
11Ms. Reena Vinod PushkarnaIsraelBusiness/Community Welfare
12Dr. Maqsooda Sarfi ShiotaniJapanEducation
13Dr. RajagopalMexicoEducation
14Mr. Amit Kailash Chandra LathPolandBusiness/Community Welfare
15Mr. Parmanand Sukhumal DaswaniRepublic of CongoCommunity Welfare
16Mr. Piyush GuptaSingaporeBusiness
17Mr. Mohanlal HiraSouth AfricaCommunity Welfare
18Mr. Sanjaykumar Shivabhai PatelSouth SudanBusiness/Community Welfare
19Mr. Sivakumar NadesanSri LankaCommunity Welfare
20Dr. Dewanchandrebhose SharmanSurinameCommunity Welfare
21Dr. Archana SharmaSwitzerlandScience & Technology
22Justice Frank Arthur SeepersadTrinidad & TobagoCommunity Welfare/Education
23Mr. Siddharth BalachandranUAEBusiness/Community Welfare
24Mr. Chandrakant Babubhai PatelUKMedia
25Dr. Darshan Singh DhaliwalUSABusiness/Community Welfare
26Mr. Rajesh SubramaniamUSABusiness
27Mr. Ashok Kumar TiwaryUzbekistanBusiness
Dr Archana Sharma from Switzerland receiving Pravasi Bhartiya Samman Award

Addressing the gathering, the President of India said that the Indian Diaspora today has become an important and unique force in the global system. It has grown into an energetic and confident community in every region and is making stellar contributions to world affairs in leadership positions.

“Our Diaspora has exhibited extraordinary dedication and hard work, and has overcome many challenges to achieve excellence in all walks of life – including art, literature, politics, sports, business, academics, philanthropy, science and technology.”

President Murmu said that over the last two decades, the Pravasi Bhartiya Divas Convention has served as a unique platform to enable fruitful engagement between the Government, the people of India and the Diaspora.


The Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Awards symbolise the India’s highest recognition of the Diaspora members for their contributions to India and their home countries.

Referring to the theme of this year’s Pravasi Bharatiya Divas Convention – “Diaspora: Reliable Partners for India’s Progress in Amrit Kaal”, President Murmu said that it reflects India’s desire to make its Diaspora a partner in the achievement of its national developmental goals.


She said that in the next 25 years, India is going to embark on an ambitious journey of collective hard work, sacrifice and intensive development to transform into a self-reliant world leader by 2047, when we would be celebrating the centenary of our independence.

The President said that the collective power and potential of the Indian Diaspora would be a force multiplier in the nation’s inclusive development. She urged each and every member of the Diaspora family to become a full partner in this journey.

President Murmu said that diaspora can contribute with their energy, experience, ideas, business acumen, investments, technical expertise and knowledge sharing, to enhance our capacities to fulfil the vision of an Atmanirbhar Bharat.

She concluded by saying, While the Indian Diaspora has built enriching and productive lives in their adopted homes in different corners of the world, they would always hold a special place in our hearts: not only as extended family members but as responsible stakeholders in India’s development.