Indian-Australian cricketer Lisa Sthalekar becomes first woman President of FICA

“Lisa was clearly the best candidate and her credentials are unparalleled as both a former player and broadcaster.”

Former Indian-Australian cricket captain Lisa Sthalekar has become the first woman president of the Federation of International Cricketers’ Association (FICA).

The FICA said in a statement:

“Lisa Sthalekar has been confirmed as FICA’s President at the FICA Executive Committee meeting held in Nyon, Switzerland this week.”

The Executive Committee meeting was held ahead of the FICA and World Players’ Association Player Development Conferences and was the first in-person meeting of the group since the COVID-19 pandemic. 

- Advertisement -

Sthalekar told media that she is looks forward to working on behalf of our member players’ associations and players. She added:

“We are entering a new phase of the game which covers more cricket than ever before for our male and female players. More countries are playing the game which demonstrates that cricket is certainly becoming a global game.”

Sthalekar made her cricket debut as a hard-hitting batter in 2003. She played a key role in Australia’s victory during the 2010 T20 World Cup final against New Zealand. She represented Australia in 187 international matches and retired from the game after Australia’s win in the 2013 ODI World Cup held in Mumbai.

Sthalekar was the first femaler cricketer to score 1000 runs and take 100 wickets in ODI cricket. She still remains among the top 10 wicket-takers in 50-overs cricket.

FICA’s executive chairman Heath Mills told media:

“Lisa was clearly the best candidate and her credentials are unparalleled as both a former player and broadcaster. Her previous roles as an independent director of FICA and on the board of the Australian Cricketers’ Association demonstrate her long standing commitment to the players’ association movement and advancing player rights.”

42-year-old Sthalekar will take up a position that has previously been held by former stalwarts such as South African batter Barry Richards, former West Indies all-rounder Jimmy Adams, and England batter Vikram Solanki.