Ind vs Aus: T Natarajan replaces injured Umesh Yadav in the Sydney Test squad

India fast bowler T Natarajan has been added to the Test squad for the remaining two Test matches against Australia. The left-arm pacer has replaced Umesh Yadav, who sustained a strain in his left calf muscle on Day 3 of the Boxing Day Test in Melbourne.
“The All-India Senior Selection Committee has named T Natarajan as Yadav’s replacement. Ahead of the Boxing Day Test, Shardul Thakur was added to the Test squad as Mohd. Shami’s replacement after the senior fast bowler suffered a hairline fracture in his right forearm. Both Shami and Umesh Yadav will head to the National Cricket Academy in Bengaluru for further rehabilitation of their injuries,” the BCCI said in an official statement.

NEWS: T Natarajan to replace Umesh Yadav in India’s Test squad. #TeamIndia #AUSvIND

Details 👉 https://t.co/JeZLOQaER3 pic.twitter.com/G9oXK5MQUE

- Advertisement -

— BCCI (@BCCI) January 1, 2021

Earlier Indian media reported that Natarajan was the likely replacement for Umesh. “With limited options available, the team management can ask for Natarajan to be added to the squad,” the sources in the know of developments in the Indian camp had said.
Umesh left for India on Wednesday night and will now look to get fit in time for the home series against England.

Congratulations to @y_umesh on the birth of a baby girl today.

We also wish him a speedy recovery and hope to see him soon on the field 😊😊 pic.twitter.com/utpMVM6wUI

— BCCI (@BCCI) January 1, 2021

Team India Test squad: Ajinkya Rahane (Captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), Mayank Agarwal, Prithvi Shaw, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Hanuma Vihari, Shubman Gill, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Jasprit Bumrah, Navdeep Saini, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, R. Ashwin, Md. Siraj, Shardul Thakur, T Natarajan.

Cricket Australia on Wednesday informed that the hosts will train in Melbourne on January 2 and 3 before moving to Sydney on January 4. India will also arrive in Sydney on the same day. The third Test between both teams will begin on January 7 at the Sydney Cricket Ground