Indian entrepreneurs explore opportunities on Australian pitch

The AIBC's Business Leaders Roundtable took place at the NSW Parliament where the Speaker of the NSW Legislative Assembly, Jonathan O'Dea, met with the delegation.

The Australia India Business Council (AIBC) recently hosted a delegation of Indian YPO (Young Presidents’ Organisation) Entrepreneurs and Business Leaders from India who arrived in Australia for the T-20 World Cup.

The AIBC’s Business Leadership Roundtable took place at the NSW Parliament where the Speaker of the NSW Legislative Assembly, Jonathan O’Dea, met with the delegation and gave them a ‘tour’ of the oldest Parliament in Australia with some interesting facts and anecdotes.

Mr O’Dea also congratulated UK’s new Prime Minister Rishi Sunak for becoming the first person of Indian origin to become the PM of the United Kingdom. Click on…

- Advertisement -

WATCH VIDEO: Indian Business Leaders getting a tour of the NSW Parliament

The delegation consisted of many eminent Business leaders and entrepreneurs from India including Vivek Jain, Ravi Shroff, Raju Venkatraman Sunil Alagh, Kishore Tanna, Aditya Vuchi, Ashok Atluri, Nandkumar Dhekne, Naveen Gupta and Monish Shah.

DGP of Kerala, Tomin J Thachankary, Chairperson Emeritus, Advisory Board, Multicultural NSW Dr GK Harinath OAM, Executive Manager at Commonwealth Bank, Dhruv Sabharwal and Venture Partner at Loyal VC James Stewart also attended the meeting.

Indian Business delegation with AIBC NSW President Irfan Malik at Jubilee Room in NSW Parliament

Brief overview of the delegation that attended the AIBC Roundtable:

Vivek Jain is Managing Director of DCW limited. He is also YPO Gold and YPO South Asia board member, and former Chairman, Royal Western India Turf Club.

- Advertisement -

Ravi Shroff is Managing Director at Excel Industries Limited. He is an active investor in the stock market and in start-up companies.

Sunil Alagh is Managing Director of SKA Advisors Pvt. Ltd and Former Managing Director & CEO of Britannia Industries Ltd.

Kishore Tanna is Managing Director Jamnadas Madhavji International Ltd which is engaged in the export of various agricultural commodities (Peanuts, peanut oil, Sesame seeds, Sesame seed oil, Rice and other commodities).

NSW Parliament Upper House

Raju Venkatraman is a Serial Entrepreneur. He is the Founder, ex-Chairman and ex-Managing Director of Medall Health Care Pvt. Ltd. He also served as President, COO and Joint Managing Director at First Source Solutions Limited

Aditya Vuchi is the Co-Founder and CEO of MediaMint, CEO of Doosra and Co-founder of QI-Cap. His first company, MediaMint, is a global marketing operations firm.He is also an angel investor in over 15 companies.

Ashok Atluri is Chairman and managing Director at Zen Technologies which operates in the defence sector. It has the largest footprint of simulators and widest installations across the Indian security forces. In addition, Zen also offers Counter Drone Systems.

NSW Parliament Lower House

Nandkumar Dhekne is Independent Director at John Cockerill India Ltd . He is also Asia leader for Solenis since its formation in 2014.

Naveen Gupta is Director of Godavari Roller Flour Mills Pvt. Ltd. He is also the President of AP Roller Flour Mills Association.

Monish Shah is the Founder and of DreamSetGo. It is India’s first premium bespoke sports travel and experiences platform and offers a range of premium, end-to-end, authentic experiences across football, cricket, tennis, F1, rugby, and golf among others. 

The Roundtable was hosted by AIBC National Chair Jodi McKay and NSW President Irfan Malik. The discussions included potential business opportunities between the two countries and some personal experiences as well.

Jodi McKay AIBC National Chair

Ms Mckay started the meeting by Acknowledgement of Country and paying her respect to Indigenous Elders past, present and emerging.

She explained the significance of doing so to the delegation. Members of the delegation shared their warm experiences in Australia, discussed potential business opportunities and made interesting observations about Australia India relations. Click on the video to know more…

WATCH VIDEO: Indian Business Leaders hosted by AIBC at NSW Parliament

Shadow Treasurer in the NSW Parliament, Daniel Mookhey, also made a special appearance at the roundtable.

Daniel Mookhey is an Indian-origin member of the Upper House in the NSW Parliament and was the first Australian politician in any Parliament of Australia to take oath on the Bhagavad Gita when he first became an MP in 2015.