Australia’s Nobel Laureate appointed Chair of prestigious ‘Group of Eight’ universities

Professor Brian Schmidt, Vice-Chancellor of ANU, is a Nobel prize-winning astrophysicist and will commence as Chair on 1 February 2023.

Professor Brian Schmidt, Vice-Chancellor of The Australian National University (ANU), has been appointed Chair of Australia’s leading research-intensive universities – Group of Eight (GO8).

The Nobel prize-winning astrophysicist will commence as Chair on 1 February 2023.

Prof. Schmidt is one of Australia’s most eminent scientists and has previously served as Deputy Chair of the Go8. He became ANU’s 12th Vice-Chancellor with a promise to build on the University’s achievements and global excellence in research and education.

- Advertisement -

On his appointment as Chair, Prof. Schmidt said he feels proud to take on the role.

 “Australian universities make a major contribution to the prosperity, wellbeing and security of Australia – none more than the Group of Eight. Our research improves lives, drives innovation, creates jobs and powers our economy to the tune of billions each year.”

He adds:

“Together we drive Australia’s vital role as a leading nation for knowledge, discovery and education. I look forward to working with all my colleagues to ensure our universities – the very best our nation boasts – continue to deliver major benefits for all Australians.”

Vicki Thomson (image source: Twitter)

Go8 Chief Executive Vicki Thomson said Professor Schmidt’s appointment would ensure the continuity of excellent leadership at the helm of Australia’s leading research-intensive universities.  

“Professor Schmidt is an outstanding appointment to replace outgoing Chair and Monash University Vice-Chancellor, Professor Margaret Gardner, who expertly guided the Go8 through the significant challenges of the COVID-19 pandemic.”

Vice-Chancellor Professor Mark Scott AO (Image source: The University of Sydney)

University of Sydney Vice-Chancellor Professor Mark Scott AO will take on the role of Deputy Chair, with both appointments commencing on  1 February, 2023.

The Group of Eight (Go8) comprises Australia’s leading research-intensive universities – the University of Melbourne, the Australian National University, the University of Sydney, the University of Queensland, the University of Western Australia, the University of Adelaide, Monash University and UNSW Sydney.

In world rankings Go8 universities are consistently the highest ranked in Australia. Seven of the Go8’s members are in the world’s top 100 universities and all Go8 members are ranked in the world’s top 150 universities; in the Academic Ranking of World Universities (ARWU) from Shanghai Jiao Tong University, the Times Higher Education Rankings (THES) and the QS World University Rankings (QS).