Prof. Saravana Kumar finalist in Science Excellence and Innovation Awards

He strives to create a safe, friendly, and positive learning environment for students where they thrive and succeed.

Indian-origin Professor Saravana Kumar, an academic with a background as a clinician, researcher and educator, is a finalist in the STEMM Educator of the Year – University or Registered Training Organisation award category of the 2022 South Australian Science Excellence and Innovation.

The SA Science Excellence and Innovation Awards showcase the critical importance of science, research, and innovation to the development of industry and society as a whole. The awards page notes:

“The Awards provide a remarkable opportunity to recognise the work of inspiring Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics and Medicine (STEMM) leaders and teams working in research and education institutions, schools, industry and the community.”

Prof. Kumar holds a Bachelor of Applied Science in Physiotherapy, a Master of Physiotherapy in Manipulative and Sports Physiotherapy, a Graduate Diploma in Education Studies (Digital Learning), and a PhD from the University of South Australia.

- Advertisement -

In a tweet, Prof. Kumar said: “What a great honour to be a finalist in #SAScienceAwards and share this recognition with such amazing and talented people.”

Prof. Kumar is passionate about teaching and communicating science and research. Over a career spanning nearly two decades, he has taught thousands of allied health students. He is an active researcher, contributing to the evidence base of healthcare, and has supervised and mentored 28 research students.

Prof. Sarvana Kumar (Twitter)

Prof. Kumar is also involved in teaching beyond the classroom, especially with the New Colombo Plan. He strives to create a safe, friendly, and positive learning environment for students where they thrive and succeed. His teaching approaches and expertise have been widely sought by a global audience.

Prof. Kumar was the NHMRC NICS-MAC Fellow from 2008-2010 and in 2020 he was appointed as the UniSA – Calvary Clinical Lead. He has been repeatedly recognised for his outstanding teaching, including commendations, scholarships, and a national award as the Allied Health Educator of the Year in 2019.

He was also the finalist for the National Allied Health Inspiration Award (2017) and Physiotherapist of the Year (2019), and won the President’s Award from South Australian Indian Medical Association (2019).

The winners will be announced on 25 November 2022 and the STEMM Educator of the Year awardee will receive a prize to the value of $10,000 to use towards their career development.