India and Australia announce squads for T20 World Cup 2024, here’s who made it to teams

Both India and Australia enter the tournament with strong teams, reflecting their preparation and strategic planning.

In preparation for the highly anticipated ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024, to be held in the West Indies and USA, the cricket boards of India and Australia have officially announced their 15-member squads. The tournament, starting on June 1, promises intense competition with top cricketing nations showcasing their best talents.

India’s Squad Announcement: The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) revealed on Tuesday that Rohit Sharma will lead the Indian team, with Hardik Pandya serving as vice-captain. India’s squad includes key players such as Virat Kohli, who has been in exceptional form in the ongoing IPL 2024, and Rishabh Pant, making a notable return to international cricket approximately 16 months after his car accident.

India’s selection committee has chosen a balanced team with two wicket-keepers, Rishabh Pant and Sanju Samson. The squad also features a strong spinning contingent with Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, and Yuzvendra Chahal, who is participating in his first T20 World Cup. The pace attack will be led by Jasprit Bumrah, supported by Arshdeep Singh and Mohammed Siraj.

- Advertisement -

India’s campaign kicks off against Ireland on June 5 at the newly-constructed Nassau County International Cricket Stadium in New York, followed by a high-stakes match against Pakistan on June 9 at the same venue.

Squad: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Hardik Pandya (Vice Captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (WK), Sanju Samson (WK), Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Siraj.
Reserves: Shubman Gill, Rinku Singh, Khaleel Ahmed and Avesh Khan.

Australia’s Squad Announcement: On the other hand, Cricket Australia has also named its squad, led by Mitchell Marsh. Notable exclusions include veteran Steve Smith and young talent Jake Fraser-McGurk. Left-arm spinner Ashton Agar makes a return to the team despite not playing a T20 international since the last World Cup.

George Bailey, Selection Chair, expressed confidence in the balanced nature of the Australian squad, highlighting the inclusion of all-rounders like Marcus Stoinis and Cameron Green, alongside the powerful batting lineup featuring Glenn Maxwell and David Warner. The team is set to open their World Cup journey against Oman in Barbados on June 5, with further group matches against England, Namibia, and Scotland.

Bailey emphasised the difficulty in selecting just 15 players due to the depth of talent and the variety of scenarios the team might face. He mentioned that players not initially selected could still have a chance to be part of the team, as adjustments are possible under ICC regulations before the tournament begins.

Australia squad: Ashton Agar, Pat Cummins, Tim David, Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Mitchell Marsh, Josh Inglis, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, David Warner, and Adam Zampa.

- Advertisement -

Looking Forward: Both India and Australia enter the tournament with strong teams, reflecting their preparation and strategic planning. As two of the favourites, their performance will be closely watched by fans and analysts alike, with expectations of deep runs into the later stages of the World Cup.

This upcoming T20 World Cup not only brings together the best of international cricket but also highlights the evolving strategies and dynamic nature of the shortest format of the game, promising an exciting spectacle for cricket enthusiasts around the world.

Support Our Journalism

Global Indian Diaspora needs fair, non-hyphenated, and questioning journalism, packed with on-ground reporting. The Australia Today – with exceptional reporters, columnists, and editors – is doing just that. Sustaining this needs support from wonderful readers like you.

Whether you live in Australia, the United Kingdom, Canada, the United States of America, or India you can take a paid subscription by clicking Patreon Buy an annual ‘The Australia Today Membership’ to support independent journalism and get special benefits.