Bengaluru born Charishma Kaliyanda wins Liverpool, scripts history in NSW election

The new NSW Parliament will have at least four people of Indian origin. Deputy Labor leader Pru Car, who has part Indian ancestory, has retained her seat of Londonderry. Gurmesh Singh from the Nationals has also been re-elected from Coff’s Harbour.

However, the one person who has made history is Charishma Kaliyanda. She has become the first, India born Indian-Australian to be elected to the NSW Parliament’s Legislative Assembly. She has been elected from Liverpool.

Liverpool was considered a safe Labor seat but in an exclusive interview with The Australia Today earlier Charishma Kaliyanda told Pallavi Jain that you cannot take the electorate for granted. Charishma was the first Asian Australian to become Councillor in the Liverpool City Council.

- Advertisement -

In an election yet too close to call, Jameshdpur born Sameer Pandey is currently trailing incumbent Mark Taylor in Winston Hills. At one point it seemed that Sameer had won the election but after around 60% votes having been counted he is behind his rival by just over 1200 votes in two party preference. The election in Winston Hills seems to be heading for a nail biting finish.

Daniel Mookhey, who was the Shadow Treasurer before elections, is likely to become the new Treasurer of NSW. Daniel is a member of the Legislative Council and was the first MP in Australia’s history to take oath on the Bhagavad Gita during his swearing in.

Indian-Australian candidates Mohit Kumar and Aaryen Pillai from the Liberals lost their respective seats from Riverstone and Fairfield. Samantha Talakola lost to Pru Car in Londonderry. Alan Mascarhenas lost to now former Premier Dominic Perrottet.

Hat-trick for Labor

Labor is on its way to winning the NSW state elections extending the string of losses for the Liberal party.

- Advertisement -

Labor will now have a government at the Federal level as well as in every state and territory except Tasmania. This is also the third consecutive election that Labor has won after the Federal and Victoria elections.

Image: PM Albanese with Leader of NSW Labor Chris Minns (Source: Twitter)

Chris Minns will be the new Premier of NSW. Labor has come to power after 12 years in the state.

Counting is still on for the elections but at the time of publication of this report, Labor was around the half way mark at 47 seats.